What do I do next!?

It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.

-E.E. Cummings

So, I turned 18 a couple weeks ago and the next day I moved to the US to finish High School. It has always been a dream of mine to finish school outside Latin America, either the US or somewhere else, just because opportunities are so much better just for the fact that I have them: OPPORTUNITIES!.

My mom has always been a very protective mother so I could say I feel a little lost but relief at the same time. The only problem is that everything is getting way more complicated that I though and there’s a big chance that I’ll have to take a GED, which I don’t mind but my mom and my stepdad do. They want me back in Panama again by Saturday.

I don’t want to go back! I felt so useless there, I wasn’t happy at all, I felt like if I was on a treadmill, I just kept walking without moving forward. I just felt so unhappy and tired all the time.

Right now I don’t know what to do, my stepdad it’s trying to convince me that a GED its not the same as a High School Diploma and that I’m not gonna be able to get into any university, my mom wants the same thing but I don’t want to go back. My dad on the other side, he just wants me to be happy and choose what I think it’s best for me and my education, he even told me I should go back to Venezuela after I finish school.

I don’t want to go back but I’m also afraid of what’s going to happen with my future if I stay… I want to stay but I don’t want to regret it later.

How do I know if it’s the best for me?… I’m so scared and even tho I’ve done my research, i still don’t know what to do

Leave a Reply

